How to negotiate a contract

9 messages - 6383 views Feed-icon
Hello my wonderful tesol buddies,

Could someone please tell me how to go about negotiating one's contract? I've been referred to 2 public schools in South Korea by 2 different recruiters. I've been advised by one of the recruiters that I am legible for at least a 2.5 million won monthly pay given my work and academic background and because the public school location could be in a small town. The good thing is that my recruiter will be negotiating on my behalf but I am still curious as to how to go about negotiating things like your monthly pay or rural town bonuses, opting out of housing and getting my own, etc. I just want to prep more when I move overseas so that I'm not taken advantage of just 'cause I don't speak the language there yet and I'm new to the country.

Please reply, I look forward to your feedback.

-Justine
you would need to hire an arbitrator
=)
The only advice I can give you about that is to try and find a recruiter that you can trust. I know that's easier said than done, but I can just tell you from experience that it can be very difficult at times to get to speak with some school representatives.

However, if you do want to speak with them, ask your recruiter, or just call the school yourself and ask to speak with the director.

Also, if you do elect to accept their provided accomodations, make sure you get some info about it and some pictures of it to get an idea of the size and condition of the apartment. This tends to keep the employer more honest.

Anyway, I hope that helps you, Justine! Good luck!
Hello!